Charter Members

Seated: Jacqueline (Wilson) Blount, Vivian Love Jones, Jeanne Buie (Holmes), Celestine Mickens (Campbell), North Atlantic Regional Director Esther G. Pollard*, Laura Mimms, Jeanette Briscoe, Brenda  Burney (Whitaker) Standing: Marlene Gray (Watts), Annette Morgan*, Lorraine Roberts*, Linda Epps (Browne), Linda Kitrell (Waldemar), Katie Griffin (Gafford)*, Gwendolyn Glover Stephens, Patricia Davis, Loretta Jenkins*


Soror Barbara P. Battle

Several Alpha Kappa Alpha women met at the home of Lorraine Roberts. They were interested in fellowshipping, renewing the spirit of sisterhood and seeking the camaraderie of one another. Barbara P. Battle was named the first unofficial president. The group called themselves "The Alpha Kappa Alpha Women of the Mid-Hudson Valley."  On Saturday, December 6, 1969, the 375th Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. - Iota Alpha Omega Chapter was chartered.

Iota Alpha Omega Chapter was voted 2018 Small Chapter of the Year Award at the 2018 67th Boule. This year our goal is to "Level Up" and continue to Exemplify Excellence through Sustainable Service. 

Copyright © 2019 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Iota Alpha Omega Chapter. All Rights Reserved.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is not responsible for the design nor content of these web pages. They are the sole property and responsibility of the Iota Alpha Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this website. Any and all use of text, information, graphics, and/or images requires written permission.


Site last updated: June 9, 2020

Privacy Policy     |     Site Map     |     Contact